Quick Answer: What are the 7 types of electromagnetic waves and their uses?

Although science generally classifies EM waves into seven basic types, they are all manifestations of the same phenomenon.

  • Radio waves: Instant communication.
  • Microwaves: data and heat.
  • Infrared waves: Invisible heat.
  • Visible light rays.
  • Ultraviolet Waves: Energetic Light.
  • X-rays: Penetrating radiation.
  • Gamma rays: nuclear energy.

What Are the Types of Electromagnetic Waves and Their Uses?

Behavior and use of electromagnetic waves

  • radio waves. Radio waves are used for communication such as television and radio.
  • microwaves. Microwaves are used for cooking food and for satellite communications.
  • Infrared.
  • visible light.
  • UV radiation.

What Are the 7 Types of Electromagnetic Waves?

From the longest to the shortest wavelengths, the electromagnetic spectrum includes: radio waves, microwaves, infrared, optical, ultraviolet, X-rays and gamma rays. To visit the electromagnetic spectrum, follow the links below!

What are the uses of electromagnetic waves in our life?

Electromagnetic waves are used to transmit long/short/FM wavelength radio waves and TV/telephone/wireless signals or energies. They are also responsible for transmitting energy in the form of microwaves, infrared radiation (IR), visible light (VIS), ultraviolet light (UV), X-rays and gamma rays.

What are the 7 electromagnetic waves in order from lowest to highest frequency?

In order from highest to lowest energy, the sections of the EM spectrum are named: gamma rays, X-rays, ultraviolet radiation, visible light, infrared radiation, and radio waves. Microwaves (as used in microwave ovens) are a subsection of the radio wave segment of the EM spectrum.

What types of waves are there?

There are two types of waves, longitudinal and transverse waves. Shear waves are like water, with the surface going up and down, and longitudinal waves are like sound waves, consisting of alternating compressions and rarefactions in a medium.

What are the seven types of electromagnetic radiation in order of increasing frequency?

EM radiation is classified into types according to the frequency of the wave: These types include, in order of increasing frequency, radio waves, microwaves, infrared radiation, visible light, ultraviolet radiation, X-rays and gamma rays.

What are the 3 types of mechanical waves?

There are three types of mechanical waves: transverse waves, longitudinal waves, and surface waves, etc. Some of the most common examples of mechanical waves are water waves, sound waves, and seismic waves.

What are the 5 uses of radio waves?

They are used in standard radio and television, shortwave radio, navigation and air traffic control, cellular telephony and even remote control toys.

What are examples of devices that use electromagnetic waves?

Electromagnetic waves are ubiquitous in nature (i.e. light) and are used in modern technology – AM and FM radio, cordless and cellular phones, garage door openers, wireless networks, radar, microwave ovens, etc. These and many more such devices use electromagnetic waves to carry data and transmit signals.

What are the 7 wavelengths?

The EM spectrum is generally divided into seven regions in order of decreasing wavelength and increasing energy and frequency. The common names are: radio waves, microwaves, infrared (IR), visible light, ultraviolet (UV), X-rays and gamma rays.

What are the 7 colors of visible light?

Visible light travels at a speed of 300,000 km per second and can be broken down into seven colors. From longest to shortest wavelength, they are: red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, and violet. To be clear, color is the eye’s perception of different wavelengths of electromagnetic light.

What is the correct order from lowest to highest energy?

The order of energy from least to greatest is: microwave, infrared, red, ultraviolet, and gamma waves.